It’s sure easy to get caught up in the day-to-day grind.

Frequently, because of that grind, we forget or overlook or make excuses when it comes to doing those things that utilize our strengths. Which are often those things we enjoy doing.

Why is that?

Recently, I started following The Daily Post. I figured that it might assist me by being my back up plan for those days that I inevitably come up short on ideas to fill the pages of my 30-day challenge.

So far I haven’t used it. Until today. In post #215, Scott Berkun asks a simple question that got me thinking:

What is a strength you have that you haven’t used?

I enjoy drawing and painting. But that’s taken a back seat behind other “more important” endeavors for now.

Yet, I know that it helps to feed my creativity, which is a large part of what I do. I know that it exercises my brain, and gets me in the zone. It gives me a break from the grind and helps me to focus on those things of beauty in this world that I otherwise overlook.

Yet I don’t do it.

I don’t have a quick answer as to why. I’m feeling under pressure to get things done. Financial pressure. But the more hurried I get the less effective and efficient I am.

Each day I’ve the opportunity to use a strength. To do that which is enjoyable. Sometimes it doesn’t feel like it but, I have a choice.

Time to slow down and paint the roses.

