IndecisionWe’re moving. Slowly.

I mean moving to a different residence. And although I’m not sure when that will happen (our house is in short sale), I do see light at the end of the tunnel and, to beat the old cliché to death, it’s an oncoming train.

While packing, I found a quote I’d written down and stuck on my wall about 15 years ago. It stuck in my brain too as I can still quote it from memory. I didn’t know who penned it until I just now Googled it.

“Each indecision brings its own delays and days are lost lamenting over lost days. What you can do or think you can do, begin it. For boldness has magic, power, and genius in it.”
– Poet, Novelist and Scientist, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

As I look back on that time in my life, I used it as a tool, an affirmation, that if repeated enough times would allow my needs and desires to come true, inspiring me onto greater successes.

It didn’t. quite. work.

I was unfocused … or rather focused on the wrong things. I tried not to lament over lost days but that regret accumulated. I read, hoped for, and waited on the “… magic, power, and genius …” yet overlooked (feared) the weight of action and attitude implied by the words “begin” and “boldness.”

I’d forgotten about it over the years. But now that I read it again it feels that, with the maturity and necessities (a.k.a., trials) that life uses to mold us, I’ve done more of the latter.

Enjoying, confronting, being more courageous, letting go, surrendering, being less selfish, yet becoming increasingly aware of and willing to permit that which makes this life more fulfilling are areas that seem to have “magically” expanded.

As opposed to a “results” focus, it’s through a subtle shift to a “begin it” action with an attitude of boldness, today, this day only, one-day-at-a-time, that makes all the difference.

